Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
What are we going to do after the guild is dead! #31493 12/19/13 08:49 PM
K
KevinL Offline OP
OP Offline
K
The guild is currently on life support and fading fast. I am a sixteen year veteran with the guild and a life time member. I think we need to have a brisk discussion of what we as members can do to either save our guild or decide what and how we can further the craft post mortem. The board has had several years to get the guild affairs in order since the down turn in the market. I like Joel McCarty and still think of him every time I think of the guild. He was a good front man for the guild. Executive directors come and go and should not be blamed for the guilds current condition. Every year we elect new board members and with the overlap in terms we keep continuity in leadership. The board is tasked with being at the helm and I hold past and current boards responsible for the mess the guild is in now. I think it is now time for a major shakeup of the guild. I feel the only duty on a national level is to publish scantlings and the journal. The guild needs to be broken up into regional groups with its own BOD and be more accountable to the area’s they serve. This will encourage more regional projects, regional education, and local fund raising and support. On a national level maybe send one regional director to represent the region. I understand that the guild has international members and each area could have its own affiliation related to the guild. In looking at the 2012 audit, membership accounted for $116,391 and publications $135, 470. Greatly lower dues on a regional level and add on a magazine subscription to cover the $135,470. Overall the dues will be higher to start with but once the regions get their acts together and start projects to generate revenues these expenses will come down. If you look at the audit you see that conferences and workshops generated $149,151 and cost $236, 963 the same thing i