Print Thread
Rate Thread
Chosing joinery for the design? #32395 07/02/14 08:48 PM
K
Ken Heath Offline OP
OP Offline
K
Hi,

A man that own big beach house with enormous deck wants me to build him a Timber Frame rooftop for his deck. He wants it to be 16' X 18' and that would cover maybe 40% of his deck. His deck is roughly 4 feet above the ground. He have many 5" X 10" X 14' yellow pine he wants to use. One thing that must be considered is high wind because his home is sitting on the sound, and other thing to consider is salt in moist air that could deteriorate his pine lumbers over the year that safety might become an issue??

While I am a bit reserved about designing him a plan because I am no engineer, here is some idea I was thinking of before adding braces.. Not sure if this will work? I am more concerned about the engineering safety for this. I wish I knew how to calculate few formula to determine if this is a good method and what joinery to use for this? The owner seems keen on trying to keep his cost down I am afraid I might can't take his project because I don't want to be liable for it.

See pic here .

I have not get to ridge & purlin, and braces are missing. I was thinking of using 5X10 post with 10 being inside to support the 5" side beam at top. The tie beam supporting King Post, I suggested going with hardwood (oak) so it will not sag over the time that you will expect from pine and owner was willing to go with that. Another uncertain is footing for posts. I was thinking of maybe a pressured treat 8x8 pine or hardwood 8x8 and cut mortise hole on top of it then put rest of body down underground with few rebar crossed, fill it up with cement then put post on top of it with bottom tenon going into mortise hole, steel bolt through it. I haven't done any drawing on it but I can if you want better picture of what I am trying to say.