Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Designing TimberFrame Patio by a DIYer. #33110 09/01/15 05:20 PM
BobinTN Offline OP
OP Offline
Hey guys;
Thanks for being here.

I am new to Timber Framing and this may be my one and only timber framing experience. I am the kind of guy who thinks he can do anything by watching youtube videos (gets me in trouble).
So, I get this idea that I will build a patio on the back of the house. Starting with cutting down the trees, milling them into posts and then use timber frame tenon and mortise to construct this patio. The patio will have a sheet metal roof. Most all timbers will be exposed (not encased in drywall, it is an open air patio).
I have cut the trees and am almost done milling them into 6x6 beams/posts. The wood is Eastern Red Cedar. The posts/beams are a mix of heartwood and white.
Attached is the patio design that I have done in SketchUp.
could you guys please review the design and give opinions?
The only issue I am currently aware of is how the braces join the corner posts. In X-Ray view you can see that the tenon/mortise joints overlap.

Thanks for any input you may have.

Posts are 6x6
Beams are 6x6
Rafters are 2x6
Braces are 3x6 (the 6 may go larger). I am trying to figure out the length and size of the braces. I would like them as small as possible to not be in the way of entrance and exit.

P.S. I have purchased the Timber Framers book from the guild. I also have downloaded the TF Extension for SketchUp. I have not purchased the manual. For a one-time project should I purchase the manual? Also for a one-time project (of the size in the sketchUp file) should I purchase the borneman Layout Template? Which method of timber framing should I use when time and expedience does not matter Square Rule/Scribe rule/eye balling....

BobinTN

Attached Files
Attached PDF document
Patio_V1.pdf (59.16 KB, 389 downloads)

BobinTN
Bob Brundage
Re: Designing TimberFrame Patio by a DIYer. [Re: BobinTN] #33112 09/02/15 12:09 AM
T