Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
1st project. Help please #33177 09/20/15 06:17 PM
N
Norseman Offline OP
OP Offline
N
Ok to start off, a little about myself. I am a journeyman carpenter with 15 years experience. I specialized in rough carpentry, mainly in residential construction. A couple months ago I had the opportunity to try my hand at timberframe and I loved it. As chance would have it my grandpa's old mobile home had a porch on it that was rotting from the ground up. My dad (who now owns it) and my brother (who now lives there) decided that I should take my new found skills and build a new timberframe porch.
As a carpenter I know or have access to all the local building codes to design and build a new structure using standard carpentry. But with timberframe I am need of some advice.

I am working with a few restrictions.
Keep costs to a min. (So no engineer/architect)
I will be using timbers we have sawn ourselves (woodmizer bandsaw mill) (spruce)
Keep the slope low ish (I'm thinking 5/12)
Display as much timber as posible.
Keep the room free of obstructions (no knee braces protruding into the room.

I am currently away from my computer and typing this on my phone. Once I get to my computer I will post a link to my sketchup design and post snow load info for the area.

The structure is to be 28'8" by 16" with the trusses spanning the 28'8". I have 3 trusses spaced 8' apart. We plan on using either 2x12 or 12"tgi joists 2' on center for the purlins. The roofing hasn't been decided yet but I'm guessing metal. I curently have the 2 end trusses designed as a simple kingpost with webs. The center truss they wanted more height to mount a light or fan from so I made it a scissor truss with an arch cUT inot thw bottoman chord. Both truss types have 8x10 top and bottom chord with 6x6 king post and webs.
I am using 10x10 posts and beams in the walls. 3 posts on each end under each truss. I plan on using standard framed walls to in fill between the posts.

Questions