Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Yari Ganna #34459 05/31/18 08:15 PM
J
Jon Senior Offline OP
OP Offline
J
So I cracked and bought a 2nd hand Yari Ganna (spear plane) with which I hope to finally finish the timbers in our house (Note to self - although I think I may have mentioned this before - always plane / sand timbers before erecting the structure. Otherwise it gets a lot more time consuming).

It could perhaps do with a little sharpening work, and has something stamped on the tang, but since I have no knowledge of japanese, I can't see if it's the name of the smith, or just a snide comment about tool geeks. If I were to upload a photo of the mark, might there be someone here who was able to translate? And also does anyone have a video of one being sharpened. I'm fairly sure I understand how to, but I'd like to see it in action before I start playing around.

Re: Yari Ganna [Re: Jon Senior] #34460 05/31/18 09:15 PM
Jay White Cloud Offline
Good for you Jon!!!

You will love working with it. I want to replace the set I lost. They are some of my favorite planes and "go to" tool for all manner of clean up.

For the Kanji found on the tang, it is most likely the makers mark and/or location orgin.

Google Translate has a "hand write" interpreter built into it. It's not perfect, but it is usually close enough to figure things out. I also have a few other sources (as do others here) that probably can assist you...

Thanks for sharing...

j

Last edited by Jay White Cloud; 05/31/18 09:17 PM.
Re: Yari Ganna [Re: Jon Senior] #34461 06/01/18 11:22 AM
C
Cecile en Don Wa Offline
C
When you look up one of the web pages for the kesurokai I think there are shots of sharpening these, otherwise you have to get in on the one in Luneburg in July,still some openings I am notified by Hannes, there will be a group coming in from Japan for that week, with their yari ganna in hand.