Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Help with design needed for novice #34582 10/20/18 01:41 PM
G
GLO Offline OP
OP Offline
G

Ok, I am a novice at timber framing. I have an add-on project to replace an aging sunroom. I plan build a 18x20 on a slab. I have designed a 3-bay, 6 feet between, 20 foot clear span, 4/10 pitch roof all out of red pine center cut timbers. 1x10 treated sill against concrete, 8x8 sills, 8x8x8' posts, 7x10x20' tie beams, 8x8x10' principal rafters, 8x8x8' collar ties, 3x8 braces on corners and 3x8 arched braces at collar. I would appreciate any feedback or suggestions.

Re: Help with design needed for novice [Re: GLO] #34583 10/22/18 05:29 PM
R
Roger Nair Offline
R
I will keep my comments on the direction I might head toward if I was tasked with your problem. I would tend to use a king post truss with the span and materials indicated. However, the roof slope is very shallow and the resulting forces thrusting at the ends of the ties can be a problem. Also not stated is the roof sheathing and underlaying structure. A little more detail and a drawing would help. Local snow loads should figure in.

Re: Help with design needed for novice [Re: GLO] #34584 10/22/18 06:54 PM
Jay White Cloud Offline
100% second Roger's advice thus far...

Key points...!!!...you have massive snow load potential in your area for that species and span with the size timbers designated...

King Post (or related) truss system...or...interior center post required...

Drawings need to be present for even moderate good advice...PE involvement highly recommended for novice frame projects. Note, I personally have 40 years at timber framing and all "new frame designs" are looked at by a PE...

I don't use oblique bracing in 99.9% of my designs (aka more Asian-Middle Eastern-Eurasian in motif and modality) so will just "hang back" and follow along for the most part...

Good Luck,

j

Re: Help with design needed for novice [Re: GLO] #34585 10/23/18 03:15 AM
G
GLO Offline OP