Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Possible faulty timberframe joints #4116 03/20/07 11:11 AM
B
BWeiser Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Brad_bb--It's not that the pegs have "backed out"--the pegs are literally two separate pieces. The builder was unable to drive a single peg the whole way through the joint for whatever reason (looks like they didn't bother to taper the end to help with the hole offset, possibly). To deal with this, they drove a second peg in from the opposite side, but the second peg doesn't "tie" anything together--it goes to the tenon and stops. It basically is there to give the appearance of a single solid peg but, to my untrained eyes, appears to do nothing structurally. None of our pegs are trimmed flush--they all stick out about an inch or so, which is why I was able to pull the stubby end out and find this in the first place.

But, yes, you are right--I am not a professional timber framer, which is why I am looking for a third-party opinion before I do anything else.

Re: Possible faulty timberframe joints #4117 03/21/07 01:52 PM
brad_bb Offline
BWeiser has told me that he has at least 15 pegs like this that have been "faked". Someone needs to get there and do a proper inspection/confirmation of this. This could potentially be a big safety issue!

Re: Possible faulty timberframe joints #4118 03/21/07 02:02 PM
J
Jim Rogers Online Confused
Online Confused
J
I'm scheduled to stop by there on Tuesday the 27th and view this frame and pegs....

Jim Rogers

Whatever you do, have fun doing it!
Re: Possible faulty timberframe joints #4119 03/26/07 01:03 PM
B
BWeiser Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Looking forward to meeting you tomorrow, Jim. Thanks again for making time in your schedule to do this.

Brett

Re: Possible faulty timberframe joints #4120 03/28/07 01:40 PM
brad_bb Offline
Eagerly awaiting the report....

Re: Possible faulty timberframe joints #4121 03/28/07 11:01 PM
J
Online Confused
J
Just got home to my sawmill office.