Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
brace angles #4135 03/27/07 06:41 PM
mo Offline OP
OP Offline
Are braces that are 12/12 better than braces that might be 10/12 (for instance, if you wanted to have the braces parallel to the rafters?

Re: brace angles #4136 03/27/07 07:10 PM
M
Mark Davidson Offline
M
what a good question.
I would say a 10/12 brace would have similar strength to a 12/12 brace based on the shortest side of your 10/12 brace triangle.
For example, a brace based on the 3/4/5 triangle would count as a 45deg brace with 3/3/4.242 sides. I am not an engineer and would be curious to hear an engineer speak on this.

Re: brace angles #4137 03/28/07 01:40 AM
D
Dan F Offline
D
I'm not an engineer.
That being said, here's my 2 cents worth. I think the 12/12 brace is used because it's balanced. Imagine, as an extreme example, a 2/12 brace. A lateral force which puts the brace in compression would have a mechanical advantage in pushing the post away rather than directing some of the load down the post. That is, the force would be directed more horizontally. If the brace were set at 12/2,the brace would do almost nothing for horizontal forces.
Another place to look at members which work to maintain an angle would be rafter ties. Of course you'd want a collar tie to be level and it's intuitive that the angles are equal at each end thus creating mechanical balance. I would argue that if the roof had dissimilar pitches, the most effective collar tie would be something other than level. Dissimilar rafter lengths or anything that makes the roof geometry unbalanced would have a similar effect.
It's all 'bout balance.
None of this is to say that a brace HAS to be 12/12. Variants are seen all the time. As with any frame design question, let an engineer check it if there's any doubt.

Re: brace angles #4138 03/28/07 04:35 PM
K
Ken Hume Offline
K
Hi Mo & Mark,

This is an interesting question and as you would expect from me no straightforward answer.