Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
rafters resisting lateral force #4858 01/24/07 05:47 AM
S
stevenk Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Hello. I'm new to timberframing and have some questions concerning lateral forces on a common rafter timberframe with a structural ridge. Mainly im interested to know what, if any, amount of lateral force is absorbed by the common rafters in a high wind situation. For this, I'm assuming the cross section of the building with post/girt/rafter is forming a triangle and thus is able to withstand a "racking" force. If anyone can help with this and understands what i'm trying to get at here, let me know. thanks, Steve.

Re: rafters resisting lateral force #4859 01/25/07 11:17 AM
Joe Miller Offline
I wouldn't rely on the rafters themselves. With any externally applied lateral force (wind, earthquake, etc), the force needs to be transfered down to the ground / foundation, so bracing upward just means you will have to brace down somewhere else.

If the lateral force is applied to one of the eaves, and the force tried going into the rafters, in order for it to be doing anything, it has to go back out the opposing rafter into the other eave wall, so you've not gained anything. And that is assuming there is a collar tie or something like that.

If the roof is adequately sheathed, then, you may get some diaphragm action where the load applied to the eaves travels in to the roof sheathing, which is attached to the gable walls, and then is transfered down that way. But, this requires a fairly shallow pitch to be effective.

Hope this helps,

Joe

Re: rafters resisting lateral force #4860 01/25/07 11:59 AM
E
E.H.Carpentry Offline
E
@ Stevenk,

I agree with Joe. Your frame would only work if there is a tie beam or at least rafter ties.
What is the size of your structure?

Re: rafters resisting lateral force #4861 01/26/07 01:15 AM
S
stevenk Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Hey, thanks for the input.