Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
hammer beam #6320 10/19/99 02:29 AM
T
tuffoot Offline OP
OP Offline
T
in a hammerbeam truss with a 8/12 pitch will the braces be the same pitch as the
rafter or at a 45 degree angle .
In the workbook it says yes( the same pitch) but I have seen pics of hammerbeams with a lower pitch on the rafters than the braces.
In a 24` wide HB truss with a 8/12 pitch and 9 ` princ.. post puts the hammerbeam at about 6` right ?( 2/3rds the post) well following the pitch of the rafter does not end up the bottom third of the post
(at least not in my drawing) am I doing something wrong? how important
is the bottom placement of the hammer brace into the bottom third of the post
Can I get away with placing it higher sayyyyyy at about the halfway point......help

Mike Evans

Re: hammer beam #6321 10/19/99 04:22 AM
R
Reid Costley Offline
R
Because I'm an engineer, the answer is always; it depends. The lower knee brace will work most efficiently at a 12/12 slope as any truss member would. The 8/12 solution would tend to bring more of the horizontal force (the hammer!) up towards the rafter/post connection (undesireable).
It all depends on the joinery...the reason for the brace connection at the lower 1/3 of the post is to take out most of the horizontal reaction through the post base rather than the aforementioned rafter/post conn.
In any case you must determine the forces on the joint and design the joinery accordingly or adjust the geometry to force the loads to the desired joint.
I realize this is no answer in specific terms but as I've said I'm an engineer...what did you expect!

P.S. My best guess is to go with a 12/12 brace and make sure the rafter/post conn. has good tension reistance.

Good Luck,

Reid Costley

Re: hammer beam #6322 10/20/99 01:35 AM
R
Rudy R Christian Offline
R
Mike,

I'm not in a position to answer your specific question, but I would like to offer a little perspective about the truss you are attempting to design.