Print Thread
Rate Thread
M&M's dismantling #6368 08/06/02 02:25 PM
S
Shaun Garvey Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Hello M&M, (and everyone else)

I just read thru the thread you started on tagging. I am currently in the planning stages of a Spring '03 dismantling project. I would love to hear a summary of how your project goes when you have completed the dismantling.

I am a beginner timberframer and intend to dismantle and relocate this frame to use as a addition to my home. This will be my 3rd tF project with a loft addition to my home being #1 and a Oak and Butternut wedged-tread staircase being #2. I live near Jack Sobon and plan to hire him to help with the dimantling.

My project is a mid/late 1800's 30'x40' horse barn which was converted into a store [clothing butique] in the 50's-60's and is now to be taken down. I believe it to be a scribe rule structure as there are no housings at the joints, though i have not looked close enough to find marriage marks yet. It is a combo of sawn and hewed timbers of a species I have not determined yet. The hewed timbers seem to be the sill plates and corner posts for whatever reason?? It is 1.5 stories with a perlin style roof and spiked rafters (vs. pegged).

I'd be interested in what your project is like in comparision.

I still need to call my local building inspector to be sure i will be able to use this structure as a dwelling (per Jim Rogers' suggestion). I will be looking at removal of a lot of trash (sheetrock, insulation, carpeting, wiring, door and window framing etc...

It does have a slate roof and lots of nice copper flashing which i will try and salvage along with many nice old divided-light windows, flooring and Wrought Iron hardware. I must pay for about 1/2 of the dumpsters to remove the debris (2-4 i am estimating), but my feeling is it will be worth it for all the extras i am getting along with the frame, which even Jack Sobon termed as "a nice frame".