Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
alignment of rafters (and floor joists) #7287 06/05/01 04:48 PM
P
piller Offline OP
OP Offline
P
From what I have see rafter pairs are always aligned to meet at the peak of the roof. This obviously is required for rafters that join to one another. But what about when a plate or ridge beam is used, is there any reason that the opposing rafters cannot be offset or alternate?

The same thing goes for floor joists that connect to a horizontal beam, must the joists on one side of the beam align exactly with the joists on the other side? If these could alternate then one could use a through soffit tenon secured by wedges on the other side.

Any info or comments appreciated, thanks.
Chip

Re: alignment of rafters (and floor joists) #7288 06/09/01 12:18 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
Chip
I'm no expert but my first thoughts on the floor joist question, where joining a horizontal beam is that if you cut a lot of through mortises you’ll weaken this beam to the point where it won’t hold up the floor. There are formulas for figuring out how to plan the size of your floor joists and the beam necessary to hold them up. I’m not sure if these would apply to your situation but maybe you should get some more books on timber framing and do some more research on that particular section of your design. If it wasn’t done that way before there is probably a good reason why, like frame failure. One well-known author said “it’s not a re-invention of the craft of timber framing, it’s a revival.” So my advice to you is to learn the old ways that work and have worked for hundreds of years and use them. Keep it simple. As I said I’m no expert, just my opinion. Good luck on all your projects. Jim

Re: alignment of rafters (and floor joists) #7289 06/11/01 02:50 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A