Rate Thread
gaps #7443 01/28/02 03:32 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
I am putting together my first frame and am finding that I am getting gaps at some joints. Often I am am to get a tight fit on one face but the other side has a gap. Looking for other people's experiences.

Thank you,

Allen

Re: gaps #7444 01/29/02 02:43 AM
J
John Milburn Offline
J
Allen, I am also a first time framer an I am no expert. It sounds like your timber is not square. You need to make the perfict timber. First lay your frameing square on all four corners to find the corner that is 90 degrees. when you find the best edge mark these two surfaces, now all your layout will be from these two faces. After you cut your joint check them with a square from these faces only. This will keep your joints square with these two faces. I hope this helps , and I will also be looking for for the answers from some of the more experanced framers, Good luck, john

Re: gaps #7445 01/29/02 04:58 AM
J
jekbear Offline
J
Allen - I am also a first time framer, having just finished a barn. What John Milburn wrote is one possibility. Check Sobon or others for a description of the square rule method. A second possibility is that the beam with the tenon has shoulders that are not coplanar. This can occur if the two faces of the beam are not coplanar and you used these faces separately to determine the shoulder layout. The tenon layout must be made from the reference faces if the beam is not square or the tenon beam must also be squared up. Note that if there is no good square vertex, you need to make one by planing if the tenon beam sits on a horizontal shoulder and the side of the beam must be plumb. Also, Benson in his first book describes the technique of kerfing to correct the gap problem. jekbear

Re: gaps #7446 01/29/02 08:49 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
Quote:
Originally posted by Allen: