Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Scantlings #7519 03/08/99 10:30 PM
D
Doug Ford Offline OP
OP Offline
D
It was suggested that this forum was a better place to ask my question. Our boat restoration group is investigating a 60'or80'x140' building. For informal estimating purposes my question is: What kind of spans could be achieved at this size and what size of timbers might we need. The buiding itself is a simple "cannery" style place.

Re: Scantlings #7520 03/09/99 03:08 PM
G
Grigg Mullen Offline
G
A 60' span is probably beyond the reach of a conventionally joined timberframe structure, particularly given today's building codes. However, large trusses can be made with the addition of steel shear rings, plates, etc to carry the stresses in the joints. I have some experience with spans up to about about 30'. Not quite what you need.
However, Ben Brungraber has done some research on the old building methods, and has a number of references on the old metal plated, wooden trusses. I expect he would be a better source on this one.

Re: Scantlings #7521 03/09/99 03:12 PM
G
Grigg Mullen Offline
G
It appears that Ben doesn't list his e-mail in the Guild directory. His work number is 603-352-0395.

Re: Scantlings #7522 03/09/99 04:21 PM
Joel McCarty Offline
1) Brungraber can be found at ben@bensonwood.com
2) Doug Ford is in Vancouver, BC, and as such should be accessable to TFG members on the way to Whistler.
3) Shelburne Farms breeding barn in Shelburne Vermont is a solid standing example of such a truss, beyond 60'in span with all manner of iron rod and plate work visible to the visitor. It's quite attractive, really, though no one would confuse it with 'pure' timberframing.

Re: Scantlings #7523 03/10/99 08:17 AM
E
Ed Levin Offline
E