Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Model barn #855 03/11/04 06:45 PM
S
Shultz Offline OP
OP Offline
S
I'm thinking about building some sort of toy box for my 15 month old son, and was considering making a model barn with the roof opening up to put the stuff in. I was thinking of making it somewhat realistic - wooden peg construction is what I call it (I'm new to this). Any tips on a project like this? Tools to use and techniques? I'm new to this - we have a few old barns around our place, but I didn't have anything to do with their construction smile I'm just looking to do something a little out of the ordinary, and yet still remain practical. I also teach industrial arts, and thought this would be a neat project to work on with some of my students when they have the time.

Thanks!

Re: Model barn #856 03/12/04 07:28 PM
S
Shaun Garvey Offline
S
Shultz,

Wow, what a cool idea! I have a 9 month old and am getting to the point of needing to build him a toybox. Perhaps I should pay you to build a second..... laugh

You could use ramin dowels from your local building supply for the pegs; 3/16" or so and shave a taper into one end with a pocket knife to make them look authentic.

I'd probably start with 1"x1" boards for the posts and beams.

email me if you like, I think this is a great project and I'd love to help you plan it!

Shaun Garvey
Berkshire Barns

Shaun Garvey
berkshirebarns.com
Dalton, MA
Re: Model barn #857 03/13/04 03:12 PM
J
jekbear Offline
J