Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Auger Bits #9570 02/27/07 01:15 AM
P
Plederman Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Been readying myself to attempt a small timber framing project and have acquired a hand powered boring machine and a t-auger..(bless ebay)..anyways...looking to get some bits and I'm confused between the ship auger bits and the wood boring bits that lets say irwin makes...which are the appropriate ones for working in pine and oak and/or is there a better manufacturer or source

thanks in advance

Re: Auger Bits #9571 02/27/07 03:51 PM
brad_bb Offline
I recently bought some Bosch ship auger bits(I work for Bosch too). Bosch has two types,type I and type II. I talked to the Bosch marketing people and was told to get the Type I for cleaner holes. Type two are for going through staples and nails if you hit them, and while it does that, it won't leave as clean a hole due to it's more aggressive nature. So the type I 's are the way to go. I am new to timber framing too, so I don't have a lot of experience yet. I have no familiarity with Irwin bits.

Re: Auger Bits #9572 02/27/07 04:58 PM
D
Dan F Offline
D
Irwin makes some double-spur bits that work fine. I would avoid the ship augers as they tend to tear up the wood. The bits you see in the big-box stores are not usually double spur. Irwin Auger website
Look carefully at the twist pattern and note how it differs from the ship augers.

Re: Auger Bits #9573 02/27/07 06:11 PM
brad_bb Offline
Admittedly I have not tried my new bits yet as I just recieved them. Yes they have a single cutting edge, but on the opposite side they have a blade knife edge on the outer diameter to score the wood before the cutting edge gets to that section. I think this design is made to prevent tearout. I will try to test one this weekend on a scrap piece when I am out at my shop. Brad

Re: Auger Bits #9574 02/28/07 12:24 AM
P
Plederman Offline OP
OP Offline
P