Print Thread
Rate Thread
guidance for attaching frame to sill #34706 08/19/19 01:48 AM
M
MarkWill Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Hi all-

I'm a newbie; been interested in this for years but never had a place of my own upon which to build. well, that's all changed and I am working on building a workshop- a smithy really- in the timber frame style. I have the foundation wall sitting on nice sized footers, and then crusher run base covered with a brick paver floor in place. I plan to attach a pressure treated sill to the foundation wall, but then I plan to lay the timber base on top of the pressure treated sill in order to be able to use stub tenons on the posts. any guidance for attaching the timber base to the sill would be greatly appreciated.
THanks in advance for any advice and so glad to have found this group-
Mark Williams
Winston-Salem, NC

Re: guidance for attaching frame to sill [Re: MarkWill] #34708 08/20/19 01:13 AM
R
Roger Nair Offline
R
Has the foundation wall been built? How it is constructed will influence the choices. If not constructed then a design can be worked out from the start. Your choices will centered on foundation bolts or strap anchors that are secured to the foundation wall and the wall to the footings. Other considerations are site specific ie soils, wind storm risk and local code regulation.

Re: guidance for attaching frame to sill [Re: MarkWill] #34711 08/20/19 11:10 PM
Jay White Cloud Offline
Hi Mark,

Welcome to the Guild Forum...

First feel free to send me an email if you would like.

It reads to me that you have already gone the route of a modern concrete foundation, with a brick floor to facilitate it being a "Smithy Shop" so my normal recommendation of just a traditional stone foundation is moot. The only foundation we place most of our timber frames on is a traditional stone one in almost all project both commercial/public and private/domestic...just as it always has been.